Coping Through Connection: Group Sessions

CLDR Square

Coping Through Connection:

Group Sessions

Background

Child Life Disaster Relief focuses on ensuring that all children have tools and resources useful in positive coping and resilience during and after disasters.

The organization relies on Certified Child Life Specialists (CCLS) to carry out this mission.  CCLSs are trained professionals who focus on providing developmentally appropriate explanations, support, and opportunities for children and teens to process thoughts and emotions in critical moments of need.  CCLSs utilize creative outlets and treatment modalities including expressive art and music, role play, therapeutic and imaginative play, as well as group processing.  Besides disaster relief, CCLSs are often employed in various locales such as emergency rooms, procedure suites, outpatient and inpatient hospital units to help children deal with stressful encounters and to mitigate trauma.

"My girls look forward to their COVID Coping through Connection group each week. My 8 year old sets an alarm to be sure not to miss it."
Erin Cornish
parent

Program

This program is organized by Child Life Disaster Relief and provided to serve as a tool in helping children and teenagers cope with the uncertainty and stress of the current pandemic virus, COVID 19, and all the associated changes that the children are experiencing as a result.

Each group listed below will be facilitated by a minimum of 2 CCLSs and focused on goals of normalization, social-bridging, healthy processing, and appropriate comprehension of the current pandemic and associated challenges.

The sessions are also designed with the intention of parents taking a needed break; however, parents are welcome to sit in with their child(ren) if they would prefer.  We ask that all participants adhere to strict confidentiality for any/all information they may hear and encourage parents to ask their child(ren) questions afterword to continue to help their child(ren) process their thoughts. 

June 2020 SCHEDULE 

PLEASE NOTE:  Groups are 45 minutes each and may split into separate rooms based on age (example: the 1st-5th grade group) or developmental level (example: special needs groups).
Early Childhood – Kindergarten Mondays & Thursdays 8am PST/ 11am EST  
Elementary 1st – 5th Grades Mondays & Thursdays 9:30am PST/ 12:30pm EST
Middle School 6th – 8th Grades Mondays & Thursdays 12:30pm PST/ 3:30 pm EST
Special Needs (verbal and nonverbal) *siblings welcome Wednesdays 8am PST/ 11am EST  
Early Childhood- 3rd Grade for SPANISH SPEAKING children Tuesdays 11am PST/ 2pm EST

May 2020 SCHEDULE

Early Childhood – Kindergarten Mondays & Thursdays 10:30am EST  
Elementary 1st – 5th Grades Mondays & Thursdays 12:30pm EST
Middle School 6th – 8th Grades Mondays & Thursdays 5:30pm EST
High School 9th -11th Grades Mondays & Thursdays 7:30pm EST
Special Needs (verbal and nonverbal) Wednesdays 10:30am EST
Graduating High School Seniors Tuesdays & Saturdays 7:30pm EST
Parents of Graduating High School Seniors Tuesdays 5:30pm EST
All Children- Open Forum Saturdays 10:30am EST

Please note that these sessions are not counseling sessions and CCLSs are not mental health professionals.  CLDR recommends parent’s seek counselors, psychologists, or psychiatrists for their child’s one-on-one needs if there are any concerns regarding their child’s mental health.

For more information, contact Eileen Esposito:  Eileen.Esposito@CLDisasterRelief.org